top of page

MY RELATIONSHIP WITH COCONUT OIL


Never thought I would be using a coconut oil in my everyday life for that many beauty hacks! After having used it for so many purposes by experimenting with it on my face, body, hair and make-up, that I just had to share it with you, guys! I know that it is old news (about the many ways of using coconut oil) but I decided to emphasize the importance of it and how I use it in my daily life, and share it with YOU my dear readers. So, here it is, my ultimate coconut oil beauty treatment.

I USE COCONUT OIL AS A:

1. MAKE-UP REMOVER

I heard about this trick before but never really believed in the efficiency of it until I actually tried it myself! The way I do it is using flat cotton pads - just swipe on some coconut oil from the jar with your cotton pad and remove the make-up as you normally would. You will be fascinated by how easy your make-up comes off! Then move towards the eyes and remove the mascara by gently massaging it off. Even a waterproof mascara will come off easily and the coconut oil won't irritate your eyes, just don't have too much of it when removing mascara. Then rinse it all off with warm water and use a facial gel for that super clean skin.

2. MOISTURIZING CREAM

Using coconut oil as a moisturizing cream is a great alternative to your facial cream you are so used to. Or if you just happened to run out of your favorite one, try to use coconut oil instead of it for some time and see the difference. I would say that I do not see much difference - my skin is hydrated, enriched and energized with this organic oil, and it helps with all the anti-aging process, as well as blemish control.

3. EYE CREAM

What can possibly be better for your sensitive under-eye area than a natural product? It is lightweight and absorbs quickly, not to mention that it hydrates and enriches the skin around the eyes, as well as takes care of those first lines you would want to take extra care of.

4. LIP BALM

Now think about a lip balm that makes your lips smooth, hydrated and edible. Exactly! Coconut oil does all these tricks altogether and tastes... well, like a coconut! Voilà!

5. CUTICLE AND HAND CREAM

This step is very efficient before you go to bed because if you do it every night, you won't have to worry about carrying a hand cream in your bag all the time. Just rub the coconut oil into the cuticles of your nails and then all over your hands (even elbows!) and while you sleep - the oil will do all the work overnight.

6. BODY CREAM / OIL

Now moving from face and hands to the whole body. I like to use it right after shower on wet skin because then it rubs in easily and absorbs faster without getting that greasy feeling. The skin is super soft, luminous and smells amazing! It also helps reducing that monthly breast pain because it soothes on the inner level.

7. BODY SCRUB

An amazing way how to scrub off the dead cells and make your skin soft and enriched is to mix a sea salt and coconut oil in a bowl, and use it as a scrub! Another product you can mix with coconut oil is used coffee grounds. Do it few times a month, believe me - it is enough for your skin! And always remember - scrub your body BEFORE you shave, that way you will make shaving process smoother than ever and will avoid irritating your skin.

8. SHAVING GEL / CREAM

No shaving gel /cream / mousse will ever compete with that natural coconut oil! After all those shaving products the skin is dehydrated and you still need to use a body cream. Now, when you use a coconut oil as a shaving cream, your skin will stay soft and protected from that sharp blade, as well as it will heal the bruises you might accidentally get. Not only it makes shaving process very easy, it also soothes the skin and calms it down. No need to put on extra body cream, just wash it all off and let the skin dry. While you were shaving, all the necessary amount of coconut oil absorbed in your skin and made it soft and luminous.

9. SUNTANNING OIL

Before you try natural coconut oil as a suntanning oil, you should know that it has only around 4SPF which is almost nothing. What I usually do, is prepare my skin for sunbathing with coconut oil. First few days I always use sunscreen with 20SPF that way protecting my skin from unnecessary sunburn, even though I am not that easy to burn but the sun these days is very strong and it can happen to anyone. Also keep in mind the aging process that gets stimulated by too much sun on your skin. So, after those few days with 20SPF, I start using coconut oil instead of suntan protection cream, so that my tan is more beautiful and stays longer. BUT I never use it between 1PM and 4 PM because that sun is the most dangerous.

10. HAIR MASK

So, my last tip for using this amazing product is for your hair! I use it as a mask and as a conditioner, sometimes alone, sometimes mixing it with other masks and conditioners. There are so many ways to use it, you just have to find those that fit you best. You can rub it into your scalp and then moving onto the whole length of your hair and leave it for an hour, a whole day or overnight. I like to use it as a mask - I would make a high ponytail and rub the coconut oil into it, not touching the roots. I would then apply on top of the coconut oil my favorite hair mask or conditioner for that extra smooth effect. I then wrap around my ponytail into a bun and leave it for as long as I can afford that day. Another benefit of it - you can put it in dry hair, it doesn't have to be wet. After these coconut oil treatments my hair is super soft, shiny and nurtured.

WHERE TO GET IT

You can buy it in every grocery store or in a specialized BIO shop. Just look for the one where it's written "Organic", "Virgin", "Extra Virgin", "Raw" or "Pure" because then it means it's UNREFINED - hasn't been pressed for several times, it contains more natural ingredients rather than the refined oil.

Now, just imagine - next time you go on a vacation - instead of 10 bottles you only need one and it will get the job done! I hope I helped you by broadening the aspects of coconut oil usage for beauty purposes.

Have a pure and beautiful Sunday, everyone!


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page